school board smiling in board room

The Spring Lake Park School Board held its annual organizational meeting followed by a regular meeting on Tuesday, January 8. Here are the highlights from the meeting:

Election of board officers – As part of the organizational meeting, the board elected the following members as board officers:

  • Board chair – Amy Hennen
  • Vice chair – John Stroebel
  • Clerk – Tony Easter
  • Treasurer – Amy Wheaton
  • Board parliamentarian – Marilynn Forsberg

K-12 Math Project Update – Hope Rahn, director of learning and innovation; Amy Bjurlin, coordinator of curriculum, learning design and English learners; Lauren Hughes, Woodcrest Spanish Immersion fourth grade teacher; and Lisa Switzer, coordinator of curriculum, learning design, and college and career readiness, presented an update on the K-12 Math project, which is part of the 2018-2019 District Operational Plan. Click here to view the presentation from the meeting.

Other Action – The board also took action on the following items:

  • Approved a motion to acknowledge gifts to the district as submitted, and extend the board’s thanks and appreciation

The board approved a motion to enter in to a closed session to discuss employee negotiations.

After reconvening the regular meeting, the board approved the Principals terms and conditions of employment for 2018-2020.