School Board Elections

On Tuesday, November 5, 2019, voters will elect three residents to serve on the seven-member school board of Spring Lake Park Schools, serving Blaine, Fridley and Spring Lake Park. These seats are currently held by Jim Amundson, Tony Easter and Amy Hennen. 

The terms of these three current school board seats are expiring in January 2020. The period for filing affidavits of candidacy for the office of school board member begins on Tuesday, July 30, 2019 and closes at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, August 13, 2019. If after filing a candidate decides to no longer run for office, they must file an affidavit of withdrawal no later than 5 p.m. on Thursday, August 15, 2019. 

Affidavits of candidacy may be obtained from and filed with Anoka County Elections and Voter Registration located at 2100 3rd Avenue, Suite W130, Anoka MN 55303. For additional information about qualifications and filing, visit the Anoka County website.

If you have questions about filing to become a school board candidate, contact Karen Stifter, executive assistant to the superintendent, 763-600-5020 or, or Anoka County Elections and Voter Registration, 763-323-5275. 

Have questions or want to learn more? 

Inside the "Serving on the School Board" document, you will find more information about roles, responsibilities, requirements, service to community and rewards of being a Spring Lake Park Schools board member. 

View our "Serving on the School Board" document