School Board

Front: Dr. Jeff Ronneberg, Superintendent; Amy Hennen, Chairperson; John Stroebel, Vice Chairperson; Amy Wheaton, Treasurer Back: Marilynn Forsberg, Parliamentarian; Tony Easter, Clerk; Jim Amundson, Director; Michael Kreun, Director

Student School Board Representatives 

The School Board consists of seven at-large elected members and the Superintendent, who is an ex officio member.

During the school year, the school board welcomes two student representatives from the high school student council. They can participate in discussions and ask questions, but are non-voting members.

Juwaria Jama 
Grade 10
Student Representative


Nadine Musa
Grade 12
Student Representative



School Board Members

Board Chair Hennen

Amy Hennen, Chairperson, 763-600-5522

Amy is an 14-year resident of Blaine. She and her husband Scott Nielsen have a son in college and daughter attending Spring Lake Park High School. Prior to her election to the School Board in November 2011 Amy was Northpoint Elementary PTO president, served on the Panther Foundation Board of Directors, Community Advisory Council, co-chaired the Legislative Action Committee and co-chaired the community’s Kids First Committee. In addition to serving as the Board's chairperson beginning in 2019, Amy is liaison to Northpoint Elementary and the Panther Foundation, is a member of the Teacher Contract Negotiating Committee and has taken part in Minnesota School Board Association leadership training. Amy has also held the school board positions of vice chairperson and clerk. In addition, she also volunteers in the Anoka County Library system and with the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

John Stroebel, Vice-Chairperson

Photo John Stroebel, 763-600-5520

A resident of Blaine since 1991, John and his wife have four children. Prior to beginning his School Board service in 2006, John was a member of the Facilities Utilization Task Force, volunteered on the efforts to pass the resulting bond referendum, and was a member of the Strategic Framework Advisory Committee. As a School Board member, John has served on the last six teacher negotiations committees and has been a liaison to each of the district's schools. He served as the Board's vice chairperson from 2010-2013, the Board's chairperson for 6 years beginning in 2013, returning to the position of vice chairperson in 2019. 

Amy Wheaton, Treasurer

Board Treasurer Wheaton, 763-600-5524

Amy and her husband, Alex, have lived in the Spring Lake Park Schools School District since 2008.  They have two sons - one attending Spring Lake Park High School and one attending Westwood Middle School.  Amy’s introduction into the district started with serving on the ECFE Advisory Council for three years.  She has volunteered in a number of different roles from reading volunteer, vision and hearing screening, to working at the book fair. During the years her children were enrolled at Northpoint Elementary, if there was an event, she worked it, chaired it or cleaned up after it.  She has also served on a variety of district committees including:  Budget Modification Committee in 2009; District Communications Committee; Legislative Action Committee, Co-Chair and Chairperson; Kid’s First, Co-Chair and Chairperson; Technology Initiatives Team; Special Ed. Advisory Council; Facilities Planning Team and Facilities Design Team.  She now serves as Board liaison to Spring Lake Park High School Parent Advisory Committee and Community Education Advisory Council. 

Tony Easter, Clerk, 763-600-5521

Tony is a 21-year resident of Spring Lake Park and began his first term as a School Board member for Spring Lake Park Schools in January 2016.  He holds a Business Administration degree from University of Northwestern.  He and his wife Deneen have a son attending college and daughter attending Spring Lake Park High School.  Tony is currently an Interactive Marketing Business Analyst for Ameriprise Financial. Prior to his election to the School Board, Tony was a member of the Spring Lake Park Schools Community Facilities Design Team.  Tony served as a board member for Emma B. Howe YMCA and continues to volunteer as a boy scout leader.

Marilynn Forsberg, Parliamentarian, 763-600-5523

Marilynn is a fifty-one year resident of Spring Lake Park where she and husband Fred raised four Spring Lake Park grad sons who in turn have made Marilynn a four time grandmother. She is a 37 year member of the Spring Lake Park Schools District School Board and is currently the fourth longest serving school board member in Minnesota. Marilynn served the board as chairperson or vice chairperson for 21 years, clerk for 3 years, treasurer for 1 year and director for 11 years. She has served as liaison to all schools and on nearly every school community committee, council and task force that exists. In addition to serving on the SLP School Board she currently serves as the Chair of Northeast Metro 916 Intermediate School District. 916's representative to the Association of Metropolitan School Districts, is president of her homeowner's association and a member of the board of her church's school and child care center. She also serves as Vice Chair on the 7 county IEIC Help Me Grow board. Marilynn has received all awards and honors available from the Minnesota School Boards Association (MSBA) - Director's Award, President's Award, 30 Year Service Award, Arlene Bush School Board Member of Distinction Award, and Minnesota School Board Member of the Year (MSBA All-State School Board). She has served as chairperson of the Association of Metropolitan School Districts, vice chair of Equity Alliance (EMID), on the MSBA Board of Directors and on the Panther Foundation Board of Directors. She was once honored with WCCO Radio's Good Neighbor Award for her volunteer work. Marilynn is a graduate of Westmar University and a retired medical technologist. She began her "school career" as a paraprofessional at Spring Lake Park Schools Kenneth Hall Elementary School.

Michael Kreun, Director, 763-600-5526

Michael and his wife Laura reside in Blaine and have three children attending Woodcrest Elementary in the Spring Lake Park School District. Michael is a corporate layer, where he practices and manages litigation.  He is also a volunteer lawyer for the Children’s Law Center of Minnesota.  Michael is the vice-president of the Coon Creek Watershed Board of Managers and is past-chair of the Hennepin County Bar Association, Real Property section. He holds a B.A. from Moorhead State University and a J.D. from the University of North Dakota.  Michael coaches youth hockey and baseball  and volunteers with youth services at Eagle Brook Church in Blaine.  Michael is assigned to the Athletic Advisory Board, is a Board liaison to the High School League, the Lions Club Foundation,  and Centerview Elementary School. 

Jim Amundsen, Director 

Board Director Amundsen, 763-600-5527

A Blaine resident, Jim and wife Beth have a daughter and two sons. Jim is currently the President and CEO of the Independe Community Bankers of Minnesota - a trade association serving the interests of community banks across the state.  Most recently he was elected to the School Board in November 2011, but previously served on the Board from 2000-2008, including 5 years as chairperson.  He was involved in the redevelopment of the Panther Foundation and served on its board.  Jim is former Chairperson of the Mercy & Unity Hospital Foundation Board, former chairperson of the Anoka-Ramsey Community College Foundation Board, and past-president of the Coon Rapids Rotary Club.