Driver's Education

Spring Lake Park Schools Community Education offers teen driver’s education in cooperation with Safeway Driving School. Safeway Driving School has been graduating teen drivers in the Twin Cities area for over 40 years and their instructors are licensed by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.

Safeway’s only focus is creating safe, responsible teen drivers. Classroom and behind-the-wheel lessons emphasize defensive driving techniques tailored for the inexperienced teen driver while targeting to influence the invincible teen attitude

Classroom Sessions

Who: Students who are at least 14 1/2 years old by the time of the class

When: Classes are held four days a week in several sessions during the school year.  During the summer months, classes will be held 5 days per week. 

Where: Spring Lake Park High School           

Cost: $360 

Register: Complete registration and pay online. Once registration is accepted and completed, there is a non-refundable $30 administration fee. No refunds will be issued after the first class; non-attendance is a forfeiture of the entire fee paid.

Questions: For questions about our drivers education or registration please call 763-600-5050 

                                                                                                                                       

Driver Education Details

Classroom instruction

Safeway classroom instruction prepares the student to take the Minnesota permit test and begin the responsibility of driving. The 30 hours of classroom is structured into 10 independent lessons. If a student misses a lesson, they can make up that exact lesson number at the next Spring Lake Park session or at one of Safeway’s other locations. After class is completed, students that are 15 years old are eligible to take their permit test at any Minnesota exam center. Students can take the class at age 14½ but cannot take their permit test until age 15.

Behind-the-Wheel instruction

During behind-the-wheel instruction, students will receive six hours of driving in three, two-hour private lessons. All driving is done in a real car on actual city streets, highways and freeways with a responsible, licensed Safeway instructor. Safeway recommends students take their first lesson 6-8 weeks after receiving their permit. The lessons should be a minimum of 30 days apart to allow for practice driving. The lessons can be completed up to one year after obtaining the permit. Scheduling is offered online for 24/7 convenience. All of Safeway’s cars are white with identical graphics, so parents and students are confident that it is a Safeway car picking up the student for a lesson. Students can get picked up for their behind-the-wheel lesson from home, school or work.

Parent Involvement

Parent involvement is required to produce safe, responsible teen drivers. It is critical that parents plan to practice regularly with their new student drivers. Safeway offers detailed information on its web site to assist parents with understanding Minnesota laws and requirements for student drivers. Safeway strongly encourages parents to review its parent information and watch the online Parent Class videos at www.safewaydrivingschool.com.

Cost

The cost of the teen package is $360 and includes the classroom and behind-the-wheel lessons, and all materials. There are no hidden charges or additional fuel surcharges. The payment plan is: $120 to CE upon registration; $120 to Safeway on the last day of class and $120 to Safeway on the first behind-the-wheel lesson.